Tags

, , , , , , ,

Keep in mind that at Molly Media Studios I use my Nikon D7000 mostly for video, and this is what I’ll be mostly writing on.

I picked up my Nikon D7000 after much thought about which kind of camera to pick up.  I went with the Nikon because of the plethora of near perfect Nikkor lenses to choose from, and because I’ve owned Nikons before, and loved them.  So for my new foray into the world of DSLR Video, I decided to stick with the tried and true.

Nikon D7000

First of all, I’m overall very pleased with my choice.  The 28 – 210 zoom that came with it is passable, and I’ve been able to take some nice still shots with it.  I have to admit that I don’t have any other lenses for it yet, but that is still to come.  I’m trying to figure out which prime lenses would work best for the kind of Commercial Video that I do for my clients at Molly Media Studios.

Nikon D7000

The metering system is quite accurate, as far as through the lens systems can be.  Most of my shots, when I’m just taking still photos, are just point and shoot, with a little tinkering with the aperature/shutter speed thrown in.  But the camera is pretty good at knowing when I need flash in the early dusk (one of my favorite times to shoot still photography).

Nikon D7000

As for Video, I’m mostly thrilled with my new Nikon 7000.  The DSLR image is so much better than I was getting with my Canon XH-A1 that it is quite remarkable.  The first piece I shot with it was a 3-minute video for the Sault Public Library (which can be seen by clicking on the logo below and navigating down a bit to the video player).  I was really pleased with the quality of the imagery, and the general feel of the overal video.

Crisp.  Clear.  Dynamite.

I bought a jib around the same time that I bought my Nikon 7000, so I’m pretty pleased with the jib shot in the library video, too.

I found that I had to do very little color grading with the DSLR Video footage, as opposed to my old XH-A1 footage.  Still, a video artist needs to get into a colour management software to grade the images to suit the client’s wishes at hand, but if what we’re going for is “realism” then there’s little colour grading to do at all.

Nikon D7000

Which is unfortunate for me, because that’s one of my favorite parts of video production — colour grading!

I look forward to deciding on lenses to purchase over the next couple of months, to broaden my creative horizons when I’m working on shoots.

A selection of Nikkor lenses.

But the zoom that came with the camera is still a rockin’ lens.  Still does an amazing job (as you can see from the English and French versions of the Ministry of Natural Resources Videos which we produced too, which can be seen by clicking on the same logo above).

One thing that really bothers me, though, about my new Nikon D7000, is the lack of adequate sound capabilities.  I bought this particular DSLR partly because it had a microphone jack input – whereas so many of the other DSLR models out there don’t.  But even using great quality microphones, my sound still ends up shit.  So I’m stuck using my great microphones with a Digital Audio Recorder (my Zoom H4), and synching it all up in post.

What a pain in the ass.

But other than that, my Nikon D7000 works like a powerhorse for me.  I love almost everything about it (except the sound qualities).  If you can find a camera as good as the Nikon D7000 (and I know there are comparable ones out there), with better sound capabilities, then I’d suggest you look at those units.  But if you don’t mind synching sound, then the Nikon D7000 is a great camera for you — both still photos and video.

Nikon D7000

Oh, and I did a time lapse with my Nikon D7000 in the local library, to watch the comings and goings for the video, and it turned out great.  And it was much simpler to do that I had envisioned; it really was.  You’ll see it in the video if you watch.