Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It is times like this that I get frustrated with myself.

I get so frustrated!

Ginette and I were coming home from making a quick trip ensemble to the store up the road.

The store up the road, thanks to Google Maps -- how cool is that!

“Do you want to go to the beach?”

We were going to go to Harmony Beach, not far from where we both live.

“Yes!  Let’s!”

So we pulled into the driveway and I ran inside and changed into shorts.  I grabbed a towel and some sunscreen left from last year and ran back out to Ginette, who was tapping her feet to Lady Gaga inside the car.

I've finally got a reason to post a Lady Gaga pic -- I'm in love with her new album, btw.

Didn’t even think to bring my camera.  Or even my phone.  Oh, I hate it when I do that.  And I do it often.

For the life of me I cannot remember to bring my phone to the beach with me.

I can’t remember the number of times I’ve been coming home from somewhere and wishing that I had had some way of recording the event with me.  If only to put it up in my blog or on Facebook.

Silly me.

Silly me!

And as luck would have it, we were rolling through the sun on the highway through the hills in my beat up old car and as we crested the last hill before Lake Superior, and incredibly beautiful sight met our eyes.

The earlier day had been cloudy, and the sun was coming out from behind us.  Beyond the crest of the hill lay the beautiful dark water of the largest inland lake in the world.  The wind was a little strong, and crests of waves bore white as they rolled across the blue.  And sitting just on the lake was a wall of dark grey cloud about 1000 yards off, cutting across the horizon and looking ominous.  But the sunlight was so bright and cheerful, these two elements were juxtaposed with each other, vibrating there on the water, the sun and the cloud, wrestling.  It was beautiful.  Really beautiful.

Closest pic I could find that looked even remotely similar. But nowhere near the same.

And of course I had no camera.

Why do I always do that?

Why?

